Taking all the power without blood. Belarusians came up with new chess

Our compatriots from the IT company PRAS have come up with a new game, Belarusian Chess. They are based on the classic ones. The aim of the game is not to defeat your opponent, but to take all the power

publish date
23.12.2020

According to Mikalaj Tamaszevicz, who developed the rules of the game, its idea dates back to the 1990s.

— The idea belongs to Aliaksandr Astrouski, professor at Grodno Medical University. In the late 1990s, he invented chess based on classical ones, and also introduced the concept of a throne - a symbol of supreme power. In 2010 I finalized the rules of the game by adding political and cultural peculiarities from the history of Belarus and Eastern Europe and also revived the ancient names of pieces together with Astrouski. Aliaksej Kulbicki was responsible for the visuals.

As Mikalaj explains, the main feature of the game is a very different objective than in classical chess.

The rules require the player to occupy the central square of the field - the throne - with one of the two pieces and hold onto it until the Kniaz is proclaimed Rokosz. This can be done without blood - i.e. without knocking down opponents.

Rokosz is the military opposition of the gentry. Translated into modern language, it can even be called a peculiar form of impeachment. In the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (a federative state, of which the Grand Duchy of Lithuania was a part) the gentry had the right to refuse to obey the king. There were such examples in Belarusian history (e.g. Sandomierz Rokosz of 1606-1609).

The rules of the game allow the Kniaz (the King in classical chess) or the Kniazyc (a new piece, there is no equivalent in classical chess) to occupy the Throne. It is assisted by pieces such as the Hietman (Queen in the classical version), the Harmata (Bishop), the Ratnik (Knight) and others.

Pieces at "noble set" of Belarusian chess
Pieces at "noble set" of Belarusian chess

Where do these names come from? These are the Belarusian names of the pieces in chess, which was widespread on our continent from the 8th-9th centuries.

- The game was so liked by medieval Europeans, that already in the 11th century chess was considered one of the most widespread pastimes of the nobility, and was even included in the program of chivalry education. In Belarus they were found during archaeological excavations in all our ancient towns. Barbara Radziwill and Leu Sapieha played chess, says Mikalaj.

There are other peculiarities of the game. The size of the board has been changed to 9x9 squares, and the pieces are placed asymmetrically.

Why did the Belarusians come up with new chess?

- Aliaksandr Astrouski claims that he dreamed about them, - Mikalaj Tamaszevicz smiles. - That is, it happened by chance. But if you think about it, we have classical chess, which is played all over the world, as well as many other variants (including round ones and three-player chess). Since Belarus has a rich chess history, we have the right to our own vision of this game. And if it is tied to our history, then we get a game with great potential. That is, it's such an attempt to establish ourselves as a chess (intellectual) country and, in addition, to draw attention to history.

Belarusian chess can be played on a computer using a Windows app, as well as live.  You can buy the set on the company's website here and here. You can find out the rules of the game here.

next section of the site
in which

examples of real projects
that the PRAS team has worked on are given

«Белорусские шахматы» - айтишники придумали новую игру

Белорусы придумали шахматы на базе классических с новыми деталями. Цель игры — не разгромить соперника, а занять трон.

дата публикации
23.12.2020

По словам Николая Томашевича, который разработал правила игры, ее идея появилась еще в 1990-е годы.

— Идея принадлежит профессору Гродненского медицинского университета Александру Островскому. В конце 1990-х годов он придумал шахматы на основе классических, а также ввел понятие трона — символа верховной власти. В 2010-м году я доработал правила этой игры: добавил политические и культурные особенности из истории Беларуси и всей Восточной Европы, а также вместе с Островским возродил старинные названия фигур. Алексей Кульбицкий отвечал за визуал.

Как объясняет Николай, основная особенность игры — совсем другая цель, чем в классических шахматах.

По правилам игроку необходимо занять одной из двух фигур центральную клетку поля — трон и продержаться на ней ход, пока Князю не провозгласили Рокош. Это можно сделать без крови — то есть не сбивая соперников.

Рокош — это военная оппозиция шляхты. Если перевести на современный язык, его можно даже назвать своеобразной формой импичмента. В Речи Посполитой (федеративном государстве, частью которого являлось Великое княжество Литовское) шляхта имела право отказаться от подчинения королю. И такие примеры были в белорусской истории (например, «Сандомирский рокош» 1606−1609 годов).

По правилам игры занять Трон может Князь (в классических шахматах король) или Княжич (новая фигура, ее аналогов в классических шахматах нет). Помогают ему такие фигуры, как Гетман (в классической версии Ферзь), Пушка (Слон), Ратник (Конь) и другие.

Фигуры в "шляхетном наборе" Белорусских шахмат
Фигуры в "шляхетном наборе" Белорусских шахмат

Откуда такие названия? Так в Беларуси назывались фигуры в шахматах, которые были распространены на нашем континенте с 8−9 веков.

— Игра настолько понравилась средневековым европейцам, что уже в XI веке шахматы считались одной из наиболее распространенных забав шляхты и даже были включены в программу рыцарского воспитания. В Беларуси их находили в ходе археологических раскопок во всех наших древних городах. В шахматы играли Барбара Радзивил и Лев Сапега, — говорит Николай.

Существуют и другие особенности игры. Изменен размер доски — 9×9 клеток, установлено несимметричное расположение фигур.

Зачем белорусы придумали новые шахматы?

— Александр Островский утверждает, что они ему приснились, — улыбается Николай Томашевич. —  То есть, это произошло случайно. Но если порассуждать, то мы имеем классичские шахматы, в которые играет весь мир, а также множество других вариантов (и круглые, и для троих игроков). Поскольку у Беларуси богатая шахматная история, то мы имеем право на свое видение этой игры. И если ее завязать на нашей истории, то получается игра с большими возможностями. То есть, это такая попытка утвердиться в качестве шахматной (интеллектуальной) страны и вдобавок обратить внимание на историю.

В Белорусские шахматы можно играть на компьютере с помощью приложения для Windows, а также вживую. Купить набор можно на сайте компании тут и тут. Познакомиться с правилами игры можно тут.

следующий раздел сайта
в котором

приводятся примеры реальных проектов,
над которыми работала команда PRAS