The heritage of Belarus is becoming more accessible. How information technology helps to develop culture

The Minsk-News Agency correspondent talked to Mikalaj Tamaszevicz, CEO of PRAS, about promoting Belarus' cultural heritage on the Internet

publish date
17.06.2020

— Your company has developed an electronic catalog of the museum fund and a register of book monuments of our country. What benefits do these services provide to society?

Thanks to these Internet resources, a wide range of people can get information about the cultural heritage of Belarus from the comfort of their homes. Unique exhibits are available for viewing 24/7. In 2017–2018, we developed the State Catalog of the Museum Fund. Now you can see on the site more than 2,800 objects of history and art from different museums of the country, but in fact, over 160,000 exhibits are registered in the catalog.

In general, the country's museum fund has more than 3 million items. Just imagine the potential!

All museums were supposed to present their exhibits on this platform, and anyone could take a virtual tour.

Similar to this catalog, in 2019 the Register of Book Monuments was developed. It is slowly being filled. There are already 45,000 items in the database, but only more than 900 are available to users for viewing. These are old manuscripts and printed publications of cultural value. The site has three sections: book monuments, collections, and funds, where the books are actually reposited. Notably, there are electronic copies of publications and they can be read online.

— What is the difficulty of working on such large-scale projects?

A large amount of information has to be systematized and presented in an accessible form. In addition, information had to be submitted for several target audiences: registry/catalog administration, fund custodians and general users. Therefore the sites have several interfaces. We tried to make them as convenient and easy to use as possible, so that anyone could understand and get acquainted with the cultural heritage of our country.

Read full article in original

next section of the site
in which

examples of real projects
that the PRAS team has worked on are given

Как информационные технологии помогают развиваться культуре

Корреспондент агентства «Минск-Новости» поговорила с директором ИТ-компании PRAS Николаем Томашевичем

дата публикации
17.06.2020
источник

— Ваша фирма разработала электронные каталог Музейного фонда и реестр книжных памятников нашей страны. Какую пользу для общества несут эти сервисы?

— Благодаря данным интернет-ресурсам широкий круг людей может получить информацию о культурном наследии Беларуси, не выходя из дома. Уникальные экспонаты доступны для просмотра и ознакомления 24/7. В 2017–2018 годах мы разработали Государственный каталог Музейного фонда. Сейчас на сайте можно увидеть более 2 800 предметов истории и искусства из разных музеев страны, но по факту в каталоге зарегистрировано свыше 160 тыс. экспонатов.

Вообще Музейный фонд страны насчитывает более 3 млн предметов. Представляете, какой потенциал! 

Предполагалось, что все музеи будут представлять свои экспонаты на этой площадке и любой желающий сможет совершить виртуальную экскурсию.

По аналогии с этим каталогом в 2019 году разработали и реестр книжных памятников. Он потихоньку наполняется. В базе уже 45 тыс. объектов, но пользователям доступны для просмотра лишь свыше 900. Это старинные рукописи и печатные издания, представляющие культурную ценность. На сайте три раздела: книжные памятники, коллекции и фонды, где непосредственно хранятся книги. Примечательно, что есть электронные копии изданий и их можно читать онлайн.

— В чем сложность работы над столь масштабными проектами?

— Большой объем информации нужно систематизировать и представить в доступной форме. К тому же информацию нужно было подать для нескольких целевых аудиторий: администрации реестра/каталога, хранителей фондов и непосредственно пользователей. Поэтому сайты имеют несколько интерфейсов. Мы старались их сделать максимально удобными и простыми в использовании, чтобы любой человек мог разобраться и познакомиться с культурным достоянием нашей страны.

Директор компании PRAS Николай Томашевич
Директор компании PRAS Николай Томашевич
следующий раздел сайта
в котором

приводятся примеры реальных проектов,
над которыми работала команда PRAS